Cricket has been played on our unique, ancient heath for over a century and a half.
The local village derby between Hatfield Heath and Hallingbury on 22nd September 1868 marks the first recorded match. For many years, cattle and sheep grazed the ground keeping the outfield under control but there were times when the grass was tall enough to hide a person lying down and runs had to be restricted to six if the ball was lost! In 1894, the playing area was levelled for the first time and the ground as we know it today took shape. However, in 1944, a bomb fell on the square, completely devastating the ground and it wasn’t until 1949 when cricket was played again. The local landmark, the pavilion, was opened at the start of the 1966 season with over 100 people attending the ceremony.
On Sunday 8th July 2018, HHCC celebrated the past, present and future with a festival of cricket. To mark the occassion, our guests once again were Little Hallingbury. The day started with two junior matches, two age groups, which were fiercely contested right down to the final delivery. It was a credit to both cricket clubs the level of skill on display and the fine spirit in which both matches were played. A big thanks goes to Little Hallingbury CC for their help on the day. This was followed by the Chairman’s XI v Captain’s XI match which truly embodied the true spirit of our club. Up to three generations of families took to the field, with player both young and old enjoying a wonderful day in the sun, at the heart of our great village.